Anna-Maria Helsing, conductor
Jukka Perko, saxophone

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Cantus Arcticus, concerto for birds and orchestra
Outi Tarkiainen: Saxophone Concerto ‘Saivo’, world premiere
Dimitri Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony op. 73a

Fri 17.11.2017 at 19:00, Tapiola Hall

Season Concerts:

Tickets: from 25/19/11 € incl. service charge

Buy ticket

The wilds of the North are translated into music in Rautavaara’s Cantus Arcticus and Outi Tarkiainen’s sax concerto written for Jukka Perko. The title of the latter, Saivo, is in Sámi and points to the supernatural world. Shostakovich’s rugged and compelling Chamber Symphony rounds out the programme.

About the Venue

The Tapiola Hall is the home of the Tapiola Sinfonietta. It is where the orchestra rehearses and gives most of its concerts. The hall with its elegant birch panelling seats 776. It is part of the Espoo Cultural Centre designed by Arto Sipinen – easy to find and quickly reached even from Helsinki. The address is Kulttuuriaukio 2, 02100 Espoo. Tel. (09) 816 21 (exchange).

Read more about going to our concerts